Building an Orgone Accumulator – Thinking Inside the Box

Now, before you roll your eyes, give this idea a chance.  “Be curious, not judgmental,” as Walt Whitman said.  As a culture, we exist primarily on assumptions.  We assume that UFOs are hokum, that ghosts don’t exist, that because meat is so nicely packaged it must mean the animal was nicely raised, that what they tell you on the news is “true,” and that diets work.

But you know, there are some days when I sit back and think to myself, “Why am I so against considering this a possibility?”  It’s like I’m automatically a skeptic.  However, on the other hand, I really like to believe in wacky stuff.  I want to believe that Ata is an alien, that the Patterson-Gimlin film is authentic, and that real people dig for and find buried treasure ALL THE TIME.

x

The trick is approaching weird stuff by releasing your skepticism, but also releasing your want to believe.  It’s not about objectivity (I hate that word–it never meant anything, did it?).  It’s just about being open.  And even if you’re the most curmudgeonly skeptic out there, there’s one thing in your brain that is really good at remaining open.  Your imagination.

And that is how I’m approaching the subject of Willhelm Reich’s Orgone Energy–as a curious and open guy giving orgone a chance.

x

Dr. Wilhelm Reich

Dr. Wilhelm Reich was an Austrian psychoanalyst who trained with Sigmund Freud.  He believed that the atmosphere was full of a life energy that he called “Orgone.”  That energy, he claimed, controlled everything from the weather to your emotions to the way your body moves to the health of your sexual relationships.  The Nazis really hated Wilhelm Reich, and he fled to Norway and finally the United States, where his ideas were embraced by the counterculture and called “perverted” by the “pure.”

x

In the United States, Reich purchased a farm in Maine and turned it into a research center her called “Orgonon,” where he experimented with orgone and weather.

x

Reich with a “cloudbuster.”

He invented orgone accumulators–boxes that concentrated and conducted orgone to a sitting patient inside.  He claimed that these accumulators could regenerate essential life energy, cure and prevent some cancer, and break down “body armor” that caused unhealthy energy flows in our bodies, which were directly connected to our emotional, sexual and psychological health.  Reich believed that every neurosis and emotional state had a somatic connection.  Reich’s research became quite popular in the 1940s, and even caught the attention of Albert Einstein, who conducted his own experiments with orgone accumulators.  The problem was that a small group of vocal skeptics falsely believed that Reich was creating and experimenting with “sex boxes.”

x

Before long, the FDA was after him.

From Wikipedia:

Following two critical articles about him in The New Republic and Harper’s, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration obtained an injunction against the interstate shipment of orgone accumulators and associated literature, believing they were dealing with a “fraud of the first magnitude.” Charged with contempt in 1956 for having violated the injunction, Reich was sentenced to two years in prison, and in June and August that year over six tons of his publications were burned by order of the court, one of the most notable examples of censorship in the history of the United States. He died in jail of heart failure just over a year later, days before he was due to apply for parole.

It was a sad end to a revolutionary figure who survived Nazis, Puritans, and serious haters.  And while his research caught on again as the closed-minded thinking of the fifties blossomed into a more curious sixties and seventies, eventually Reich was forgotten by the mainstream.

x

Over the last couple years, I’ve researched Orgone, Reich, and accumulators.  I’ve read Reich’s remaining books, and The Orgone Accumulator Handbook. by James DeMeo’s, PhD.  Of course, I don’t claim to be an expert about any of it.  Admittedly, there is an element of aesthetic kitsch in all of this for me.  Then again, the deeper I’ve gotten into Reich and orgone energy, the more I respect his ideas, research, experiments, and rigor.  While I like to indulge in weird stuff, I don’t always like the way that indulgence can nullify the importance of thinking “outside the box.”

And so, I call all this my experiments thinking inside the box.  I decided it was time to build an accumulator of my own.  What follows is how I went about constructing the accumulator, based primarily off the instruction and plans in James DeMeo’s handbook.

I started with the materials, which included compressed lightweight firing strips, luan, formaldehyde-free fiberglass, steel wool, galvanized sheets…

August, 2013 003 (Medium)

I constructed lightweight wall frames.

August, 2013 005 (Medium)

August, 2013 004 (Medium)

Then came the bottom frame, which needed more support, the top frame, and the door.

August, 2013 015 (Medium)

August, 2013 016 (Medium)

To conduct orgone, the frames are filled with alternating layers of fiberglass (orgone absorbent) and steel wool (conductor).  I had to order a 20 pound reel of steel wool.

August, 2013 009 (Medium) crop

Alternating layers in the floor frame:

August, 2013 010 (Medium)

Next, I attached the galvanized metal to the interior walls.

August, 2013 019 (Medium)August, 2013 022 (Medium)

As you can see, the orgone box fits together by wood dowels.  I can take the entire thing apart in seconds.  To secure the box, I installed latches.

August 2013 2 003 (Medium)August 2013 2 004 (Medium)

I used shellac to finish the exterior.  Shellac is an all-natural resin finish, derived from the secretions of the female lac bug (no, I didn’t make this up).

August, 2013 028 (Medium)

Finished product–easy assembly.

August, 2013 025 (Medium)

August 2013 2 005 (Medium)

Folks, let the orgone accumulation begin.

August 2013 2 009 (Medium)

Right now, I have the orgone accumulator in our backyard.  But in a couple weeks, we’ll be packing it up on top of the Jeep and taking it to Burning Man with our Scamp, which looks like some kind of orgone accumulator itself.  In fact, I often call the Scamp “Into the Orgone.”

Summer 2013 013

Keep in touch to see how experiments in orgone go.

Finally, rest in peace, Wilhelm Reich.  Or actually… don’t.

x

Dr. Wilhelm Reich

38 thoughts on “Building an Orgone Accumulator – Thinking Inside the Box

  1. This is awesome. Orgone accumulators are fascinating. We’re renovating an airstream, and I’m trying to figure out how to make it a huge orgone accumulator, but it’s got the metal on the outside! Thoughts?

  2. Reich warned against living in aluminium sheathed structures like caravans or trailers and said they concentrated negative orgone or ‘oranur’. Aluminium coated insulation slabs used in loft spaces and in between floors were also considered potentially harmful. One should fully read the published material on orgone before embarking on accumulator construction. There are also a range of areas where the siting of an accumulator should be avoided.

  3. Thank you for the info what was the final cost and what have been your experience by useing it. Also do you know were one might one to experience the effects. Allen Shoup

  4. Excellent, thank you!!! I am in the process of sourcing all my materials required, however, I’m going to substitute the fibreglass insulation for natural sheep wool batting (of course if I can ever find any)… and I’m considering making my walls slightly thicker. Were you able to include the 6 layers of alternating fibreglass and steel wool? …that’s another thing I’m seriously battling to find, is, the steel wool in a roll, but, I’ll get there… Thanks again!!!

  5. Following on with my previous post from June the 28th 2018… It’s the 9th of May 2019 and I’ve successfully built my own ORAC (Orgone Accumulator)… I’ve been using it on a regular basis now for almost a year with really interesting results. Part of the reason I decided to construct my very own ORAC was to prove and/or disprove some of the claims and statements made by Reich and many others and I’m really glad I did. The most notable and tangible effect the moment you enter the ORAC is the increase in the ambient temperature inside the ORAC compared to the temperature outside, it’s definitely a few degrees warmer inside (absolutely inexplicable and I have no explanation for it)…In some cases the internal temperature was of such a degree that it caused me to me to break out in a sweat. Initially there was a notable increase in my heart rate which did stabilise, a tingling of all my extremities, a ringing and itchiness in my ears and everywhere where I had old scars and areas of previously broken bones began to itch, again absolutely inexplicable. My sleep also improved and was much deeper and generally of a better quality with improved REM and very vivid dreams. Time spent in my ORAC has ranged from a few minutes to almost and hour, noting that periods exceeding 45 minutes is not recommended, but I cannot report any negative effects from being in my ORAC for longer than that, besides feeling slightly nauseas (I was overcharging). Prior to constructing my ORAC I wasn’t a particularly sickly person hence I cannot report any major improvement in my health, but, what I can report is a serious boost in my creativity, clarity of thought, speedily healing of wounds and definitely a major boost in my energy levels – I liken my ORAC to a battery charger for humans. There’s also been a distinct and notable change in my garden with plants and tree’s showing increased growth and general improvement of foliage. Note: It’s critical to switch of all your electronics, internet routers, wi-fi boosters, wireless telephones, cellular devices, etc. even to the point of just tripping the breaker/earth leakage on your DB Board. What I have also done is keep a log book/diary of sorts logging my experience(s) and affording other users to also log their experience(s). I do not share any of my experiences with new users in an attempt to negate the placebo affect… “Is what is happening to you happening because I said it would or is it actually happening” hence I do not share any information. What is interesting to note is that all logged experiences by all the users are very, very, similar. Follow this link, scroll down and you can see what my ORAC looks like http://www.orgonomyuk.org.uk/News%20Page.html

  6. Note: It’s critical to switch of all your electronics, internet routers, wi-fi boosters, wireless telephones, cellular devices, etc. even to the point of just tripping the breaker/earth leakage on your DB Board – PRIOR TO USING YOUR ORAC.

  7. To all inquiring about the outcome. I really can’t say. I used it a bunch in the first year, but had no quantifiable results. All of the results could easily be explained by wanting to believe in the thing you spent a lot of time reading about and building. Still, I didn’t test it rigorously, and didn’t approach it all scientifically. I still have it, but now have two kids and a fixer upper. Note: This is not to say I have lost interest, or was at all discouraged by outcomes. Just to say that I really can’t say!

    • Hello, I’m very interested in obtaining an orgone accumulator but have no skill with woodworking. Do you think if I could find a wood box large enough to sit in and apply the alternating layers of material to the inside and fashion a door of some sort that it would work? I’m even considering layering the inside of my closet:) Or should I find a carpenter to build it for me? what are your thoughts? Thank you so much – Your work looks great. (PS- If you are willing to let me pay you to make one for me or sell yours I’d be interested if that’s possible). Wendell Elam

      • Hi Wendell. You might consider starting with an orgone blanket. Google that and see what you think. They are easy to make, and a good entry into orgone accumulation. If you want to build an orgone accumulator, I would hire a carpenter or friend with building skills to help you. It’s a pretty easy process, even for the unskilled. I wouldn’t use a closet, no, because the surrounding atmosphere matters. The nice thing about the orgone blanket is that you can take it anywhere.

  8. I really curios on how your experimentation went? I’m truly enthralled by the organite concepts and truly wish I knew more. I’ve been attempting to create orgonite and any and all things related to the subject in my basement.
    To give you a synopsis on myself, I was a Mechanical design engineer for 20 years in the medical device industry. This fell through after being laid off by corporate. I have been looking for what my heart desires and not what the rat race determines.
    Anyway I would love to talk more about your discoveries. By the way I love the scamp!!!

    Thanks
    Gregg

  9. Did you feel an increase in your energy or a rechared balanced feeling after sitting in your accumulator. I would like to build one also, but it is an expense, I am open and curious, and meditate regularly, but a bit tired from giving manual therapy to others in my profession. Something does leave me. These are the reasons why I would be grateful to hear about your experiences.
    Please advise,
    ~Alper
    From Toronto, Canada.

  10. I just stumbled across this blog while looking for ways to build my own Orgone box and I was wondering how it worked at Burning Man and what kind of feedback you received? Also, do you still use it?

  11. Hi, thank you for this useful article.
    May i know the exact inches for the galvanized metal?
    And which type of fibreglass you used?
    Also how many layers in total?
    Many thanks for your help, looking forward to hearing from you.

  12. Hi, thank you for this useful article.
    May i know the exact inches for the galvanized metal?
    And which type of fibreglass you used? Also how many layers in total?
    Many thanks for your help, looking forward to hearing from you.

  13. Why can’t you make a orgone accumulator out of the trailer. Does it still work if it was made larger. Or does it have to be such a small box in order for it to work. Maybe all homes could dedicate a room for such a function

  14. Has anyone tried to make different shaped orgone accumulator , like pyramid? Or oval? I know pyramids have been known to slow the degradation of organic matter, could this make some difference?

  15. I would like to build my own. Same as above with pictures and such. I have the book but it’s seems sort of intimidating. Any other suggestions or does anybody in the states same them. Living in a condo in the city could be a challenge to build.

    • Hi Rick. It’s a pretty easy project, and if you build it like I did, it breaks down into parts if you want to store it. I’m not aware of any source that sells them, but you could always hire a handy person to build one for you.

  16. ever thought of making one with phi ratio measurements …width to height ratio 1.618 etc …. united Nations building in New York [the big slab like block ] uses this ratio . I didnt think the metal had to be galvanized . In Myron Sharaf’s biography of Reich he mentions Walter Hoppe who had a twenty fold accumulator -does that mean twenty different layers ?

  17. it is amazing how much “crazy”/good/bad stuff came out of Vienna/Austria . There was a cafe in Vienna which was visited by Hitler , Freud and either Stalin or Trotsky or Lenin all at the same time , and Rudolf Steiner was Austrian

Leave a comment